I Don’t Have Any Comments.

But maybe some of you do.

32 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    June 18, 2007 at 2:17 am

    I think there have been similar articles/lists of ‘free games’ in the past. It’s really an advertisement more than an article.

    The author has rather low standards for ‘massively multiplayer’. I wonder if they glossed over the Anarchy Online free trial restriction (no expansions) or just didn’t research it. None of the titles on the list that are really MMOGs are free games, they’re free trials. Of course, if you’re not the kind of person that ever needs to go above level 15, play without a 15 minute wait, or play more than the base game (depending on product) then these really are free games to you. If you are looking for more out of your games, the trials give you a chance to check things out before committing.

    It seems like the generosity of the free trial offer is directly related to how far under expectations the game is doing. It’s a marketing knee-jerk reaction that when a product isn’t making money, they suggest giving more away free.

  2. Jos said,

    June 18, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Thanks for the link! Urban Dead looks really cool; I’ll check it out later today.

    Btw, I’ve been playing RTCW: Enemy Territory for quite some years now, and it’s a really great game! Not only it’s clearly a high-quality commercial FPS, but also it has a very large community, which creates a lot of mods, custom maps, sound packs, etc.

  3. DrewC said,

    June 18, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Cost of apples got you down? Try these free oranges!

  4. Michelle D'israeli said,

    June 18, 2007 at 5:49 am

    The main thing that struck me was the snubbing of Jagex. Runescape isn’t even mentioned, yet it’s one of the more popular free MMORPGs (rather than MMO Social spaces).

  5. Beno said,

    June 18, 2007 at 6:34 am

    What’s the problem? Are you guys sniffy about these games because the production values aren’t as high as the pay-to-play titles? Or because the pricing model upsets your fruit barrow?

  6. mystery said,

    June 18, 2007 at 7:20 am

    None of the titles on the list that are really MMOGs are free games, they’re free trials

    I beg to differ: Puzzle Pirates is a complete game, and you’ll never run out of options by playing it free of charge. If you run with a good crew, you’ll never need to pay even to see the advanced stuff in the game, as you’ll end up making all the money you’ll ever need.

  7. SavageX said,

    June 18, 2007 at 8:49 am

    I really had fun with dungeon runners in beta, I may pick it up again later when m real world fun slows down some.

  8. mythago said,

    June 18, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Wonder why Guild Wars didn’t make their list–since it’s a MMORPG with no subscription required. My only comment about such games is that customer support and service ain’t free; if it’s not community-run or paid by advertising, you get what you pay for. (Try raising a CS rep in GW to let them know some drunk asswipe is reciting Mein Kampf on the public channel in Lion’s Gate.)

    Beno, what’s a “fruit barrow”? Is that where honored fruit are buried, and rise from the grave as wight-apples?

  9. Groovymarlin said,

    June 18, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Urban Dead is fun, but to put it in the same category as MMOs is kind of silly. It’s a text-based game — welcome back to the days of the MUD!

  10. Beno said,

    June 18, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Hee! Oops! My ecolect is showing. Years ago, the vendors in Covent garden were called ‘barrow boys’. They trundled their fruit and veg around on large, wheeled tables, called ‘barrows’. So, I guess I meant ‘upset the apple cart’.

  11. Gearhead said,

    June 18, 2007 at 9:31 am

    1) Good.
    2) Online.
    3) Free.

    Pick two.

  12. Jason Ballew said,

    June 18, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Wait. RCTW is a MMO? Since when?

    And, if you’re going to talk free MMOs, what about Shot Online and Albatross 18? Or Flyff? Or probably a horde of other /decent/ games for free that are out there?

    Granted, most of the ‘free’ ones still use the Korean model, which is premium content at a premium price. Which is fine for a free game, but not, y’know, for Hellgate: London…

  13. jnfr said,

    June 18, 2007 at 10:32 am

    1) Good.
    2) Online.
    3) Free.

    Pick two.

    Or try Kingdom of Loathing and get all three. Though it’s not a MMOG in the usual sense, but it’s online and has a very social community and PvP.

  14. MikailBorg said,

    June 18, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Of course, there was no discussion of whether most of these were Mac-compatible. I realize that’s not important to most game developers, but it’s important to me.

  15. Baby Eating Octopus said,

    June 18, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Mac Compatible?

    If you have an intel mac just buy parallels and play windows games in OSX. There’s no reason devs should avoid mac, especially with their new intel processors, but there’s also solutions to get around those issues.

    As for the matter at hand:

    I’ve really only experienced one “free” MMORPG in my time, and that was Guild Wars. I use the term free about as loosely as this article uses MMO. Sure the basic game is free, and if you want premium stuff you have to pay. While I think this is a great compromise, I wouldn’t exactly say it’s the optimum “Buy the game for a big chunk of cash and get to play it online for cheap”. Personally, I think if a company charged 50 dollars for a yearly subscription and 75 dollars for a “hot off the rack” game, it’d be the best situation from a player standpoint.

    I think guild wars has done alright for a “free” MMORPG. Why it’s not on that list is beyond me.

  16. DrewC said,

    June 18, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I have nothing against any of the properties listed in this article, my issue is with the article itself:

    “Why shell out up to $15 every month to play online games like World of Warcraft or Everquest when there are plenty of free alternatives?”

    Why buy a car when a Moped is cheaper and more fuel efficent? Why pay 600$ a month to live in the city when you can live an hour outside of town for half the price?

    I’m sure this article isn’t going to stop that Juggernaut that is World of Warcraft, but on some level it bothers me to see someone saying “Stop paying money for that quality service, come try these free services.” When said free services are either not truely free, not the same service, or significantly inferior.

    It’s probably my specialty retail background. I used to work in a Game Keeper (back when the chain still existed) and I got real sick of hearing “Why is this game 30$, it only costs 20$ at Target.” Yes, it’s cheaper at Target. It’s cheaper at Target because Target is not in a mall and has less staff (on a per customer basis) to help you find the product you’re looking for. If your priority is price go shop at Target, but don’t come in, have me spend 20 minutes helping you find just the right game for little Jimmy’s birthday present, then complain about the price. Oh and when you decide that you’re gonig to buy the game at Target afterall, don’t be suprised when this store is gone.

    Wow that got a bit off topic.

    My point is this: quality costs. If you’re not willing to pay for quality that’s fine, it’s a free country, but don’t pretend an inferior product is superior just because it’s cheaper.

  17. Skullduggery said,

    June 18, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Hyundai asks (in essence) “WTF? Why pay so much more for a car that is effectively no better than ours, and lacks the following features?…” Sure, the Lexus crowd will insist that their car is better, or even occasionally admit that they bought the name for the sake of appearances alone. Many will sniff unpleasantly at the Hyundai simply on hearsay and/or biases and not based upon an investigation and a test drive.

    If there are similar features betwixt the products in question, it comes down a consumer weighing their options and deciding which they prefer and if any fees are reasonable for what they get. That article was a mess, but the attitude that “it can’t be good if it’s free” that shows itself on some of these blogs is inane. Given a couple of more years, there are a number of schools whose student projects will be scaring the snot out of the Old Boys Club.

    That being said, the quality bar on the truly free MMO’s may be raised a few notches with Earth Eternal (www.eartheternal.com). Fully functional freebies with microtransactional shortcuts may well change the landscape.

  18. DaveN said,

    June 18, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I find 9Dragons quite fun for short periods of time. Who doesn’t enjoy an hour of kung fu whoopass?

  19. Michael Chui said,

    June 18, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    I’m waiting for IRE to publish Earth Eternal, and I’m a little miffed at myself that I’m not cavorting in the forums in the meantime. I mean, the other IRE games (all free) can be excluded from the list on some idiotic notion of “It’s not graphix!”, but EE is graphical, online, free, no download, and looks awesome.

    When you develop a game to be played for free, and then base your revenue model on players paying to get a littl extra from the game, you make a damn good game.

  20. Apache said,

    June 18, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    It’s just a list of free games to play. There are many, many, more.

  21. Evaine said,

    June 19, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Maybe I did not read right but Shadoebane is free and not a trial but the full game. You have to like pvp though.

  22. Parizad said,

    June 19, 2007 at 11:21 am

    I gotcher comment! I got yer comment right ovah heeya!

    Cop +1; Us (Parizad, Jackie, and Tweety) +5; my driving record thanks to speeding ticket -3

    /hugs Sanya

  23. Parizad said,

    June 19, 2007 at 11:22 am

    /sniff

    It didn’t post the pic! http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t200/natalie_stylee/COPAAHHAAH.jpg

  24. Rick M said,

    June 19, 2007 at 11:52 am

    Guild Wars isn’t mentioned because (drum roll)…it’s not free. You have to purchase the game to play online. There’s no subscription fee, which is what people are confusing with “free”. This article is talking about games that don’t have a cost to either obtain or to play online.

  25. DoesNotMatter said,

    June 19, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    I saw that my browser was too old.. which is funny since standard haven’t changed and I don’t use Lnyx. Yet this linked site lokks like something straight out geocities ca. 1997.

    And by free do they mean private servers ? Since I couldn’t read the actual article and them doesn’t seem be smart enough to realize that private servers are misspelled really…

  26. June 20, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    […] to Sanya, I’ve learned about a game I must investigate as I pursue my own […]

  27. imweasel said,

    June 20, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    “Wonder why Guild Wars didn’t make their list–since it’s a MMORPG with no subscription required. My only comment about such games is that customer support and service ain’t free; if it’s not community-run or paid by advertising, you get what you pay for. (Try raising a CS rep in GW to let them know some drunk asswipe is reciting Mein Kampf on the public channel in Lion’s Gate.)”

    So? Let’s see if you get this.

    It’s…

    Free…

    You don’t need to pay to maintain your account. Log. Log back in when you can. It didn’t cost you a penny. Not even a fraction of one.

  28. imweasel said,

    June 20, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    “My point is this: quality costs. If you’re not willing to pay for quality that’s fine, it’s a free country, but don’t pretend an inferior product is superior just because it’s cheaper.”

    The problem is money talks. Hence the closing of the chain you worked for.

    You do get a good return on your investment with pay mmog’s.

    And people would argue over ‘what is quality’ when it comes to software, be it for games or something else.

  29. Khan said,

    June 21, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Free games are nice. Not as much support as pay-to-play games, but I’m sure some of the ones listed are fun.

    One issue I see with some of them is paying for content. Dungeon Runners is one example. You can play the basic game for free, but an additional $4 (or whatever) gets to more access to more parts of the game. I’m not sure I like these kinds of deals. On the one hand, I think pricing models like this encourage disparities in the game. If a friend of mine can’t afford the price for the “elite” package but I can, do I have to leave him / her behind? On the other hand, disparities always exist in these games, so why not take advantage of those that want to “push the envelope” by asking them to pay more than people just along for the ride (i.e.: “raiders” pay more to support their bandwidth / access frequency / play style needs than “casuals”).

    Anyway, that’s just something I noticed.

  30. Eric the Grey said,

    June 22, 2007 at 3:54 am

    A couple of interesting ideas there, and some I may have to check out, while my main PC is down. A dead mother board doesn’t make for easy gaming…

    I’m actually surprised that I could even view the site, being that I’m at work, and Websense blocks all game-related web sites. 😀

    Earth Eternal also looks good (and I can read that site as well). Web-based games are usually big news to those of us who use Linux for any amount of time. I’m going to have to dig a bit deeper to see what the browser requirements will be.

    8) Eric the Grey

  31. DJ Jester said,

    June 25, 2007 at 8:13 am

    As far as the comments that none ofthe games are actually MMO’s that are listed, I’d say you’ve never played Anarchy Online or Dungeon Runners.

    Dungeon Runners is most certainly an MMO. Its a persistant universe with gameplay looking alot like Diablo II.

    I was also suprised to not see Runescape or Guild Wars on there. My only thought with Guild Wars is that the author probably left it out b/c of its 50.00 price tag and its continual release of 50.00 expansions. While the expansions arn’t necessary, how many people do you know that play the game religiously and only have one of the Guild Wars boxes?

  32. Phaltran said,

    July 12, 2007 at 10:55 am

    I’m just catching up on Tweety’s blogs, so pardon my jumping in late, but I couldn’t resist commenting on this.

    It all comes down to “You get what you pay for.” If you refuse to pay for a high quality game, here’s your list of some choices. If you want to try a variety of games and one of them suits you well enough to pay for the “full version,” this is a good starting list. If you have ADD and cannot stick with a single game for a lengthy period of time, here’s your menu for daily variety.

    For me, I’ll see if they are suitable for my daughters to play so they’ll get off my WoW account. 🙂 I see all of these as betas: something to pass a little time and allow you to determine if you want the full product. I was so grateful that I was selected to beta test numerous MMO’s; it prevented me from wasting quite a bit of money to try out something I would have quit in 30-60 days. WoW and LotRO have been the exceptions – I beta tested them, bought them and enjoy them immensely.


Leave a Reply

