Started New Gig

No more slushies in the backyard for me at eleven in the morning. I’m working for Guild Cafe as their Director of Community.The new gig offers me a lot of flexibility. They don’t care if I say “fuck” a lot. I’m still free to write, freelance, vandalize the internet, answer burning questions, and whatnot. And they’re also cool with me working from my world headquarters here in the Pleasant Valley Sunday subdivision. I was touched, and a touch flattered, to hear from some really brilliant studios and startups over the course of the last few months, but most of them (understandably) believe a community weenie’s place is with her team. If circumstances were different… but they aren’t. And as it turns out, that limitation of mine meant I was still available for something really, really awesome.

There are only a few things to see at the Cafe right now, and I’ve already fielded a few questions of “what’s a guild hosting service need with a community weenie?”

The answer is that if that’s all they were doing, they WOULDN’T need me. They certainly wouldn’t pay me.

The GuildCafe guys have a vision for what the gaming community online can be. No matter what game we play, we have more in common with each other than anyone else in the world. The thing I’ve always loved about real-life player gatherings is that every time, I feel like I’m in a room with a thousand people who could become my friends. Many of you have, over the years.

One of the things that was good about working for Mythic towards the end was that I was no longer involved with one product’s community, but several. And I was no longer only meeting players from the United States, but from all over the world. That was hugely appealing to me, and I was looking for a gig that allowed me to get that back.

My new overlords feel like community work is a professional specialty, one that has a value in and of itself, separate from any particular project. Considering this is something I’ve been preaching for the last half decade, that attitude alone was enough to get me to hear out their presentation.

And I was psyched after I saw it. The job’s going to be a cross between media and game community. They have plans afoot for tools, well beyond the forums/hosting/stat display stuff people often assume is the bulk of online community. They’ve invited me on early enough that I can have a real impact in shaping the future of this company.

But this blog isn’t about my job. Just wanted people to know. I made a category for it, because I’ll post questions about stuff I’m working on to get y’all’s two cents every so often.

43 Comments

  1. Cuppycake said,

    July 3, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Congrats Sanya on the new gig! Sounds like a kickass place for you =) Good luck!

  2. Parizad said,

    July 3, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    OMG, congrats!! Wheee!! This is very, very exciting news indeed!

    I just looked behind me and Tweety (the giant doll) is super excited too! He just can’t stop smiling.

  3. mystery said,

    July 3, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Ding! Grats!

  4. QforQ said,

    July 3, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Awesome news and I can’t wait to see what you do at GuildCafe! Jon seems to be a great guy and I look forward to see where you take the company! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Servitor said,

    July 3, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Wonderful news. Congratulations!

  6. Amber said,

    July 3, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Congrats Sanya, this sounds like a great opportunity! I’m really looking forward to seeing what you all cook up.

  7. Tovin said,

    July 3, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    Mucho congrats chica! I’ll look for good things from ya over there! *dances*

    T

  8. July 3, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    […] Sanya Weathers, former Director of Internet Relations at EA Mythic, is now the Director of Community at GuildCafe.com. no score       link    spread 6:12 pm by Borz    Gaming […]

  9. Lorna said,

    July 3, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Wow! Congrats!!

    Man, I hope this doesn’t mean you’ll stop posting here though, will ya??

  10. Apache said,

    July 3, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    >>They donโ€™t care if I say โ€œfuckโ€ a lot.

    lol, lucky you

  11. Benson said,

    July 3, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    An amazing community, and with you at the helm, can only prove to become the industry standard.

  12. DragonPup said,

    July 3, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Congratulations and good luck Sanya!

    I am somehow reminded of a conversation of what if people were required to have a webcam to be allowed to post stuff because then they’d (hopefully) be more polite. :p

  13. Faelor said,

    July 4, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Awesome, grats Sanya! Sounds like a great place to hand out, I mean work =p

  14. Goemagog said,

    July 4, 2007 at 1:07 am

    so they’re paying you to call them ‘overlords’?

    Goe, cause being raped by a rabid baboon isn’t the only incentive he has to do a good job.

  15. Cito said,

    July 4, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Congrats!!!

  16. Christian Maslak said,

    July 4, 2007 at 9:23 am

    Congratulations

  17. Michelle D'israeli said,

    July 4, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Oh, wow, nice one!

    I had been thinking that there could be money in a cross-game guild services website, I’m glad to see one emerge.

    Good luck to you in your new position!

  18. Hades-LotD said,

    July 4, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Good to have you aboard. I’ve really become addicted to Guildcafe, and I will be writing a series of guild primer articles there starting this month. The gaming community really doesn’t have a social site for guilds until now, and I think Guildcafe can be an excellent resource for guilds to talk about a wide variety of things. Basically you can freely discuss gaming, guild, and other issues there that you couldn’t on a fan site somewhere. They also have good guild hosting and support tools.

    Cya around!

    Hades

  19. xaldin said,

    July 4, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Well now this should be different.

  20. Rich Weil said,

    July 4, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Congrats on the gig, Sanya! What a great fit!

  21. Khan said,

    July 4, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Great news! Congratulations!

  22. Sullee said,

    July 4, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Congratulations!

  23. Dan said,

    July 4, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Honestly sanaya camelotherald.com just isn’t the same without you on their. Congratz on your new gig. I hope it offers you the endless flexibility and yet the ability to make more of an impact that you were able to at Mythic.

  24. Khatie said,

    July 5, 2007 at 5:55 am

    Woot! I can’t wait to see what Guild Cafe has to offer. Have fun with the new work, Sanya!

  25. imweasel said,

    July 5, 2007 at 7:00 am

    I found it interesting that warhammer is not even on the top 10 list of ‘most anticipated games’, especially considering some of the titles that are on that list.

  26. Nick said,

    July 5, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Congrats!

  27. Tarinth said,

    July 5, 2007 at 7:57 am

    What do you mean imweasel? It’s the #1 game in that list.

  28. Aufero said,

    July 5, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Congratulations! I’ve been only vaguely aware of GuildCafe, I’ll have to start paying more attention.

  29. Big Hal said,

    July 5, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Congrats, enjoy working from home. The hours tend to suck since it can be hard to ‘leave’ work when your office is just down the hall from the kitchen or whatever but you can’t beat the commute and the attraction of Ultra Casual Friday.

  30. Staryx said,

    July 5, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Just signed up for GuildCafe. Seems like a nifty site to have a central point for us players to gather, no matter what game we play.

  31. Grarghsies said,

    July 6, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Yeah Tarinth, thanks to zeli getting half of Only-WAR.com over there.

    HI ZELI!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  32. Keen said,

    July 6, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Congrats Sanya. ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Laitriem said,

    July 7, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    YAY!!! so glad to hear about the new gig. but I guess this means I never get promoted to special snowflake status now huh? ๐Ÿ˜›

  34. Jason C said,

    July 9, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Congratulations, Sanya. I hope it all goes well for you.

  35. Philip Ripper said,

    July 10, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Ding!

  36. Zel said,

    July 10, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Hi Grarghsies!! Oooh wait no you were talking to Zeli, hehe. Well Sanya I’m very happy for you and for Guildcafe. Based on what I’ve read from you so far you have a wonderful attitude and honestly care about the gaming community. I share your high hopes for Guildcafe and I’m happy you’re a part of it now because I think you’ll be a great asset. And thanks for linking here… what I’ve read so far has been both enjoyable and inspiring, and the design is very pretty too! /examine css. ^.^

  37. Bremyyn said,

    July 13, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I know this is a Congratz Sanya thread and all (and Congratz to you Tweety), but…

    Goemagog, been a long time. I hope all is well.

    Brem, ’cause my first words on Tweety’s message board years ago were to call Goe a froggie. /grin

  38. MaeveAlleine said,

    July 13, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    You’re just the kind of polish a diamond like GuildCafe can use! Welcome to our community.

    Ps..She’s a great editor too.

  39. Vanifae said,

    July 19, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    That is pretty sweet, good luck.

  40. Brat said,

    July 19, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Bout time…thought I was never going to be able to harrass you on a message board again.

    Btw…the web design on the guildcafe site is…OUCH…MY EYES…THEY BURN!!! And having to actually sift through all the sig pictures to find peoples actual replies gave me a headache.

    Constructive criticism was never one of my strong points…sorry.

  41. Bob the Barman said,

    July 19, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    “I am somehow reminded of a conversation of what if people were required to have a webcam to be allowed to post stuff because then theyโ€™d (hopefully) be more polite. :p”

    Naahhhhh there’d just be lots of naked bits and all politeness would disappear where the sun don’t shine.

    Grats Tweet.

    Watch that Hades individual though, he hasn’t stopped being a Richard Head yet (I expect you’ve noticed already though).

    Hey if you get all them gamers from around the World massing there en-mass and even massively, it would be a great ‘core’ to build a new MMO around . . . . . *runs away ducking and diving . . . . *

  42. Steve said,

    July 26, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Congrats! I can’t wait to see what Guild Cafe brings to online communities. It is so amazing to see people share the same passion with me. There is so much more to be made from communities it is unbelievable! So much opportunity in one place!
    Can’t wait!

  43. Constantinos said,

    November 23, 2007 at 6:37 am

    interesting


Leave a Reply

