Sorry, Been AFK

I got the game that shall not be named up and running, and by gum, it’s actually really fun. They nailed the feeling of the world, the environments, the look, everything about making the world feel like (awesome intellectual property). And the crafting, holy smokes, y’all, I’ve tried crafting in every game since 1997, and this is the only one seamlessly integrated into the actual GAME. And I can make level appropriate, cool stuff, right off the bat. Without a craft bot. Or poking out my eyes with superheated coat hangers. Or carpal tunnel. Too bad their entire account creation process is designed to make any normal person not even bother! Instead of thirty free days, I got… eleven. I’m afraid to call CS again, though.

But anyway. The answer to the Three Endings Riddle:

“Instead, casual is gaming in its purest form: Fun when it’s convenient for you.”

“Instead, casual is cost-free immediate gratification.”

“Instead, casual is the refinement of gaming’s good parts, separating the endorphin rush from all the frustration and downtime.”

I suck at endings. I’ve never been good at summing up; I tend to be abrupt and leave the reader with a serious case of mental blue balls, or whiplash. I usually need an editor or a “first reader” to help me clarify my own intentions.

The first one was what made the article, as you know. The second was my first draft. The third was the editor, not necessarily giving me what he wanted to say, but illustrating where he wanted me to go. I am rather lucky in that I’m allowed to argue with editorial changes to a point. Most of his changes are totally on the mark. In the case of the ending, I felt that he had changed the meaning of my point, but the reason his edit was able to do that was because I didn’t make my point very well in the first place.

As you all pretty overwhelmingly indicated, the first one was very much the superior product. I told him at the time we were hashing it out that I would post the three options on my blog, out of curiosity to see what people thought. I feel a bit gratified; obviously I’ve got a successful dynamic with this editor!

This has been another episode of Professional Writers DO TOO Need Editors.

23 Comments

  1. Crumpy said,

    August 29, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    The first ending is the money shot.

  2. Aoladari said,

    August 29, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    I know what Sanya’s playing. I admit I like it too, but didn’t buy the game when it went live. I ended up being drug into WoW which is very similar with brighter colors and kiddy animation. I’m not impressed with the graphics of WoW but it’s been around so long it doesn’t have many bugs, and is easy to play. Also having 6 pther people that you know IRL who are willing to group with you at any given time made my choice. =)

  3. Taemojitsu said,

    August 29, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    /cry

  4. Rich said,

    August 30, 2007 at 7:50 am

    Indeed.

  5. Igniferroque said,

    August 30, 2007 at 7:53 am

    I’ll bite. Does anyone know what game they are playing but not naming?

  6. Thomas said,

    August 30, 2007 at 8:14 am

    I’m guessing it involves some Higher Power of Gold Metal Bands, the unnamed game.

  7. Loredena said,

    August 30, 2007 at 9:00 am

    It sounds like she is playing LotRO. Which I absolutely love. I didn’t encounter any issues with account creation, but I was in beta and a founder. (I did find myself with multiple accounts that had to be merged, but I put that down to the usual beta issues).

    They absolutely nailed the look and feel of the world in my opinion, and I feel part of the story.

  8. August 30, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Thats funny because when I first read the opening lines, I thought she was talking about VG until I got to the crafting part.
    I got a coat hanger and bic lighter in my collectors edition.

  9. Eric the Grey said,

    August 31, 2007 at 1:48 am

    I would bet for LoTR as well. I played it until I lost my MB and Video card (still not certain how or why that happened). It took 2 months to afford a new MB, and I still need a video card.

    Crafting is cool, but better still is Monster Play. Get to 10th level and take a walk on the dark side. 🙂

    EtG

  10. Garthilk said,

    August 31, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Actually,

    I was going to say Bioshock. 😀

  11. Engels said,

    August 31, 2007 at 9:10 am

    I thought the game was under beta, and hence can’t comment? Or is it due to her profession that she can’t mention what it is? I’m confused.

  12. JdJdJd said,

    August 31, 2007 at 11:25 am

    I’ve been under the impression it’s LOTRO as well. I did try it but for whatever reason it just didn’t do anything for me.

    @Brackishwater – I knew I should have paid for the collectors edition. All I got was flint and tinder in my box.

  13. Grimjakk said,

    September 1, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    They nailed look-and-feel, but after about 20 levels of PvE, I re-upped my DAOC account and started levelling up my characters on Classic.

    Monster-play only whetted my appetite for “real” RvR… Turbine’s version just felt like RvR on training wheels.

  14. Aoladari said,

    September 2, 2007 at 9:31 am

    LotRO has been released, she’s probably not telling us to be suspenseful, or so that we don’t go harass her IG if we figure it out.

    It could also be a conflict of interest to endorse a game by name right now.

  15. Zaphod said,

    September 3, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I understand that when you work for a company, actively promoting their competition is frowned upon. These frowns are traditionally written in the comments that come along with your final paycheck.

  16. Cyndre said,

    September 4, 2007 at 10:04 am

    She doesn’t work for a game studio currently, rather GuildCafe, and many designers play and discuss competitor games on their blog. It isn’t a crime to design a game and **gasp** enjoy playing other games in the genre. In fact, designers who don’t play the competition are suspect and most likely lack prespective in the industry.

    Famous last words of Brad MacQuaid. “I never played World of Warcraft.”

  17. poena.dare said,

    September 6, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    LotRO is a slap in the face of free-will/non-deterministic gamers everywhere.

    (It’s fix-the-patches-of-patch-day-patch-day so I must post.)

  18. Cheerio said,

    September 8, 2007 at 11:19 am

    It’s a SOE title. It all sounds like SOE support mechanisms and stuff. Could you please confirm that? 😉

  19. Oz said,

    September 12, 2007 at 9:28 am

    I’m fairly sure it’s LoTRO…if you signed up in August, you actually get 60 free days. I did, was some offer they had on the website. Not sure if you had to complete some form before eom aug though…

  20. Dennis said,

    September 15, 2007 at 8:02 am

    If it’s a virtual world it must be LotRO as by now only two awesome IPs have been used to create one and I agree Turbine did a pretty good job (even if the game got boring for me really fast as the actual endgame is not interesting enough). On the other hand all that was nailed for the other VW based on an awesome IP was its own coffin.

    I’m wondering why you are not naming the game anyway… =)

  21. Tipa said,

    September 18, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    I doubt it’s LotRO. The crafting is just like WoW’s — not earthshaking by any means. You can make useful stuff right off the bat, but so can you in EQ1 and EQ2 — in fact in EQ1, you craft your own newbie armor. But I KNOW Sanya played EQ1; I was on her server 🙂

    I’d like to know what game she’s talking about, so I could try it!

    Tell us!

  22. Tipa said,

    September 18, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    Hmmm. Maybe she DOES mean SWG, and is just hesitating to name it because of the instant flamewar that would spawn.

  23. etali said,

    October 17, 2007 at 9:37 am

    I would have said Final Fantasy – that’s a nice game, feels like FF in a lot of respects, but boy the signup system is HORRIBLE. I never tried crafting in it though.


Leave a Reply

