*knocks dust off*

Man. I’ve been either on the road or typing for a month now. Three random thoughts before I get back to posting:

Why would anyone in their right mind bet me a hundred bucks I wouldn’t say “cock” into a microphone? Much ❤ to Troy, the fool with a hundred bucks to burn, whose beta for POTBS just started. I had the pleasure of meeting a huge part of the Pirates crew, and even more than ever I wish them good sailing.

A few people thought Raph Koster sounded like a dingbat at AGC. Heaven knows I’ve criticized the dear boy in past years for being so consumed by conceptual ideas (and design-for-design’s-sake) that he forgets to take into account human nature. Without context (context that is now known), he did sound like a lunatic… but with context, he had a good goddamned point about what makes a success, and what a little original thinking might look like. Also, he had balls to show up and talk, despite knowing that his best points and his market research had to stay off the debate table for a few more weeks. Considering the decided lack of testicular presence at the show this year, I was glad to see some displayed. Finally, FWIW, if I could have relocated, I’d have interviewed with that team, quite happily. I think Cuppycake (the Metaplace community weenie) has a hell of an opportunity before her.

I find it telling that nearly every professional community person at AGC knew all the words to “Tainted Love.”

6 Comments

  1. Cuppycake said,

    September 26, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    For my sake, I’m glad you didn’t interview for my postition! 😉

    Thanks for the good comments on Metaplace, and quit slacking on your blog sista!

    (Oh, and seeing you say “cock” in your panel was awesome. I laughed heartily.)

  2. Yegolev said,

    September 26, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    You are missing a colon somewhere inside your metaplace link.

    Also hello.

  3. GreyPawn said,

    September 27, 2007 at 4:16 am

    Have there ever been any better descriptives for what we do, apart from, well, eating bees?

    Take my tears and that’s not. Nearly. All! taint-ed love.

  4. antipwn said,

    September 27, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Tainted Love is pretty much my job description in a nutshell. When we hire my sidekick, I will in fact reject any applicant that won’t give me all a boy can give me.

    Wait. That sounds wrong…

  5. September 27, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    […] to be “cock,” followed by 17 seconds of absolute silence. Cuz that’s how me and Sanya roll, bitches.) They also know what they’re going to say after your pitch, and it is this: We […]

  6. Joe Ludwig said,

    September 29, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    I bet Troy wasn’t thinking “I’ll bet you 100 american dollars that you won’t…” but rather “I’ll pay you 100 American dollars if you will…”. You must be a brilliant negotiator. He never offers any of us more than “One American dollar”.


Leave a Reply

