Argh.

This isn’t a personal blog, otherwise I would rant. I would probably rant about people who call to see my dream house, the one I have to sell before purchasing something no doubt inferior in regards to the dream domicile’s many charms (but nearer to where my husband the genius artist is now employed). These people do not understand that since I work at home, their call requires that I stop working, gather up my coat, phone, keys, and two recalcitrant beagles that would rather be napping, and haul the whole flying circus down the sidewalk. AFTER racing around the house to be sure I have not done anything terrible like leaving a towel on a towel hook, or a wastebasket full of drafts by my desk. Were this a personal blog, I would certainly rant about the fellow who casually mentions to me, as I am leaving the house, that he has already made an offer on a completely different house, but he was “just really curious” about mine.

This rant would apparently be part of a very long tradition.

Sorry for not ranting about games and community – lately every spare minute has gone into house selling/house hunting/contemplating a gigantic margarita bender.

11 Comments

  1. Jadawin said,

    October 31, 2007 at 11:34 am

    You have my condolences for hitting the worst sellers’ market in God-knows-when- hope you find a buyer soon.

  2. mystery said,

    October 31, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    I’m in the same situation. We’re selling our spacious mansion in the Midwest for something older, smaller, and possibly haunted back east. Of course, no one will buy our house, so we’re left with an infrequent sudden impulse to get up, make sure every spec of dust is off the floor, and run out with our big dog and “hang out” at the local park for an hour or so. We requested 24 hours notice on the listing, but we’ve had Realtors just show up at our curb, and call the showing line to ask for an immediate view of the house.

  3. DragonPup said,

    October 31, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    Ouch. I just finally closed on a condo myself, and thankfully I didn’t own the last place, so I can only imagine the pain-in-the-ass-ness of trying to sell and buy at roughly the same time. 😦

  4. October 31, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    That’s no moon! That’s a margarita!

  5. martiank9 said,

    October 31, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Working at home while showing a house is painful. The last time we moved we had showings daily –sometimes 2 or 3. 1 hour before we had to leave I’d have to shove a sedative down 1 dog’s throat because the trip in the car upset him so much, and lock 1 cat in the basement in order to prep him for getting him in the crate. 20 minutes before the showing I would pack up my laptop then wrangle 2 dogs, 1 cat and 1 Grandma (crating 1 dog and 1 cat), pack them all into the car and head to the park. I also usually had to deal with the fiancee complaining about how she hated showing the house, and she didn’t want to go to the park, and how she couldn’t keep anything out in the bathroom, and why hasn’t anyone made an offer yet anyway

    We had to keep the house in a showable state all the time, which really means that it couldn’t look like anyone lived there. We had to hide the toaster (the kitchen counter had to be clear), hide everything in the bathroom (the fictional family didn’t brush their teeth I guess), remove the large garbage can from the kitchen (the fictional family didn’t make garbage) and when we had an open house we had to hide the cordless phones so some enterprising visitor didn’t run off with them.

    So believe me when I say I feel your pain. Selling a house sucks. You have to live there but the house has to stay in a model state, and you have to be ready to leave at a moment’s notice.

    Bleh.

  6. John said,

    November 1, 2007 at 2:31 am

    Congrats on your husband’s new job! Now I have 2 reasons to be jealous of him!

  7. Goemagog said,

    November 1, 2007 at 5:40 am

    you have a spouse, two dogs, and a roof. life is good, be happy.

    Goe, in a post wabe-gimbling state of mind.

  8. Retina said,

    November 1, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    My wife and I just recently moved into as close to our dream house as we’re going to find in the SF bay area, but we’re also trying to sell her late fathers condo in Nashville. That has been a nightmare. The new house is great, the condo is great but the potential buyers so far have been idiots. The last one got into escrow and demanded the world but then couldn’t secure a loan. Jerks. Ugh.

    Good luck to you though!

  9. Inhibitor said,

    November 2, 2007 at 4:59 am

    Amaretto Sours. Two per showing.

    It works…trust me.

  10. Jeer said,

    November 5, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Just some old daoc player here.. just wanted to say beagles ftw!

  11. Goemagog said,

    November 6, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    boobies ftw!

    Goe, cause beagles are silly.


Leave a Reply

