Gasp.

Oh, wait, I’m not that shocked.

9 Comments

  1. Phaltran said,

    December 7, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    To add to this: http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2007-12/cumc-tiy120507.php

    I don’t think those two articles contradict each other as much as both point to the same thing: stuff affects your brain; your mental and emotional health determines how you react.

    My correlation: those with existing mental disorders or a tendancy to “lose control of themselves” should not watch violent videos, play violent games or drive in rush hour traffic.

    For me it boils down to accountability; there isn’t enough of it. Instead of owning up to something and saying “I made a bad decision,” people look for a scapegoat. “It couldn’t have been my fault just because I did it. The video game made me mad at my school and made me load my shotgun and made me shoot six people. The video game *controlled* me.” This is rampant throughout all aspects of our society: marriage/infidelity, business/unethical practice, religion/hypocrisy, politics/deceit.

    I played D&D and computer games, I listened to hard rock and heavy metal and I hated a good many people in my school deeply enough that I would have preferred to see them dead. I even had access to swords and shotguns. Not once did I ever consider killing any of those people I hated. Killing each other and blaming an outside element is just one of the major steps backwards for our civilization. Hope we make it to the next century.

  2. Aaron said,

    December 7, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    SEC football made me do it!

    All the “video games kill people” sort of talk is obviously nonsense, but it’s also silly when people deny the small, temporary effects and subtle pressures of habit (any habit). Too many gamers pretend that normal people are completely unaffected by the world around them, that we’re completely self-shaped. I hate it when people jump from one extreme view to the other.

    Watching football does often make people temporarily more aggressive, as do any number of things. There’s a reason military ads use metal for their soundtracks and my favorite rock station (now gone…) had slogans like “music to run pedestrians down by”. The violent games witchhunt is just petty politics… but too much, too often of any type of influence can have an effect. The effect might not be enough to make you shoot someone, but it might be enough to make you bite someone’s head off when they didn’t really deserve it or brush someone off when they could have used your help.

    Anyway, I think Dennis Leary said it best:
    “Does that mean I can sue Dan Fogelberg for making me into a pussy in the mid-seventies? ‘Your honor, between him and James Taylor, I didn’t get a blowjob until I was 27-years-old.’ “

  3. Goemagog said,

    December 8, 2007 at 12:37 am

    the advertising industry spends billions of dollars a year disagreeing. you could even say that they make a living off of using varied forms of media to influence peoples thoughts and actions. personal responsibility kinda fades away after a point.

    Goe, not at that point yet.

  4. tannenburg said,

    December 10, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    The only thing that has ever made me consider out-of-control mass slaughter is Muzak in elevators.

    Seriously. That stuff will tip you over the edge, man.

  5. Bob the Barman said,

    December 12, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I’ve seen people claim that LSD drove them out of their minds, yet to everyone else they were clearly out of their minds years before they took any LSD.

    Maybe the LSD made them realise just how out of their minds they really were . . . . .

    I suppose that insight could throw some people.

  6. Bob the Barman said,

    December 12, 2007 at 12:08 am

    How’s the house selling going by the way? Any serious viewers?

    It’s getting increasingly bad out there. So bad, I’m off to Spain next month ready to buy a place once everything tanks there.

    No internet though until I do (other than internet cafe’s I suppose). That might be a bit hard to get used to, after being online almost 25 years. /sigh

    Cold turkey gamer. /ugh

  7. no one said,

    December 14, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    It’s difficult to comprehend how insane some people can be. Especially when you’re insane.

  8. Ashtaar said,

    December 15, 2007 at 1:00 am

    Um… check me on this, but isn’t the number one selling type of game in America sports? As in EA whatever or Blankety 200x?

    If there really was some spiritual mumbo-jumbo link, wouldn’t that mean millions of Americans getting off their couches and going outside to scrimmage? Because, you know, Tiger Woods made them do it.

  9. Legadema said,

    December 19, 2007 at 2:10 am

    The idea that my tax dollars need to parent America’s kids and act as a scapegoat is ridiculous. Be responsible for yourself, your kids, and your actions. Period.


Leave a Reply

