Obvious Truth: Why People Quit

This list does not replace sensible exit polling, quit surveys, thoughtful CSRs, or community people. This isn’t just about games. This could apply to any product or service, to the point that I remember seeing similar principles in b-school textbooks. Also, if anything on this list is a shock or a surprise to anyone who has been in the workforce more than a year, kittens will be killed, drowned by the tears of the baby Jesus. I am blogging this only because I have managed to be trapped in a conversation on this topic TWICE since the year began. Twice, people. That’s embarrassing for everyone involved.

People quit games, products, services and relationships because:

They wanted something different, and your product did not match their expectations. If you’re getting a lot of this in the early weeks of a product’s release, but your numbers rebound after word of mouth spreads, the problem was your marketing. You sold them an experience that they could not possibly get in the actual product. Eh. It happens. I’ve lost track of the number of movies I’ve gone to where the trailer was cut and scored by someone who hadn’t seen a script or read a synopsis. Occasionally, the movie was drastically edited after the trailer’s production.

Of course, in gaming, there are two possibilities sometimes combining into a swirly choco-nilla ice cream cone of hell. One is, as mentioned, that the marketing was not in sync with the actual production. There are entire websites on this phenomenon, so let’s leave it at that.

Two (and this applies more to games where the betas are kept limited and under NDA until the last second), the people who actually played the game for reviews spent the entirety of their time playing a version of the product that never existed.

It is very, very common that members of the press receive premade characters, wearing top of the line armor and equipped with spells and abilities. This is not a problem, if the development team has ethics and standards – one cannot get a taste of how an MMO might be to play after six months in one afternoon, or even one month. What IS the problem is when the demonstration characters have armor, spells, and abilities that actual production characters will not be able to achieve or receive.

Ask anyone who ever spent the two months before Old Skool E3 painting barns just so Catherine from some print rag could drive by and wave – the elaborate demo facades take nearly as much development time as building the damned product in the first place. If you hear about a development team regularly (not once or twice, which is expected and necessary) crunching to meet a deadline for press demos, as opposed to actual milestones, stay away from the product unless the top management is replaced a year before release. Anyone who can so thoroughly and repeatedly lose perspective is not equipped to produce a top quality game, and will do so only if they promoted competent middle managers. Hint: Anyone who crunches more than once or twice for a press demo without standing up for his product and his team most likely promoted sniveling yes-men that resembled him.

The customer is burned out on whatever it is that you have to offer. Did you make a clone of a more popular product and slap a coat of New and Different on top? Once the players lick the icing off and realize it’s the same damn cake, they’re gone.

Did you make a clone with a major, significant innovation, and the players still quit at an early stage? You didn’t hold them long enough to find and experience your innovation. Trust me, if you really innovated somewhere, the rest of the product is solid, and the player got to the innovation without being hassled, the rest of the cloning won’t matter as long as you made it shiny. Sure, the bloggers and the board whores will cry “clone,” but frankly the vast majority of everyone else licked off the icing and went “ooh, this one’s got blueberries!”

The above two scenarios involve customers who bail out early. If they bail out after a few years… the problem is just that they’re burned out. No amount of game tweaking, balance changes, or incentives on your part will hold them. It’s really not you at all. The only things keeping them are their relationships – to stuff, to vault contents, to houses, to titles/reputation, but most importantly, to their friends. But you have made guild/clan management and communication easy, with a GUI and lots of fun tools and features, right? Your community team is out there celebrating the player’s contributions, right? You’re facilitating guild-run events, right?

You suck. Really. Occam’s Razor, here, y’all. To be fair, I’m mainly talking about the situation where people buy it, try it, and bail almost immediately. If you can’t hold ’em for at least a day, you bored them or you annoyed them. It’s not a mystery. Don’t blame overwhelmed servers, beta testers, the process, last minute revisions, timing, or my favorite catchall, “factors beyond our control.” (I love mysterious “factors.” Yeah? Like what factors? If you can’t spell it out, don’t include it in a press release, wanker.) Also, “it’s not you, it’s me” always translates as “it’s me not liking you.” When someone says that to you, do not call or email asking for more information. This applies to mates, dates, and people who already filled out an exit survey when they left your game. Asking for more information is just going to make both of you feel awkward.

Of course, if you drastically changed the product (thanks to not listening to your community weenie and mistaking the board whores for the silent majority), or did something that negated every player accomplishment to date, or dramatically changed your level of support for the product, then “you suck” could be the reason for sudden sub drops years after the try/buy/bail scenario has faded.

*

I really think that’s it, kids. Everything else I’m coming up with is a variant of the listed items. Content not compelling? Point three. Two waves of quitting, one right after release and one right after the first batch hit max level and started posting? Point one. The whole guild quit? Two with a smidgen of three. The whole guild quit and says it’s because of X change? Maybe three, but honestly, there’s usually a lot of two involved, especially if they didn’t all quit at once but exsanguinated after the raid planner and the treasurer quit – check with your community professional, he’ll know.

But comments are, as always, welcome.

32 Comments

  1. January 8, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    […] and read the rest. It’s excellent, as […]

  2. Nick said,

    January 8, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I just quit PotBS without ever playing it. I joined the beta, read the forums, voted on some content, downloaded and installed everything, even ran the patcher a few times, but never actually played. I wonder where that falls on the list :p

  3. Hanna said,

    January 8, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I’m not quite sure where World of Warcraft fits in with this. It released without any real PVP and that made me happy. I could live a happy life on my roleplaying server and not have to worry about being treated differently because I don’t enjoy PVP. Then the rules changed. And the rules will become even more vicious in the next expansion where they’ve promised a zone that will be enforced PVP on anyone who enters, even on non-PVP servers.

    So, I played for a long time, and then the game experience changed significantly for me.

    Was that a mistake on Blizzard’s part? Probably not, as their player base keeps growing. There are 250,000 little yos out there who live for PVP for every one of me and Blizzard is giving them what they want. So, they don’t suck, technically, but they destroyed my gaming experience.

    Oh, and raiding. I can’t stand it either. Leaving very little that WoW originally promised that I was interested in. But the rest of the whole freakin’ world appears to love it.

    I guess I’m just an outlier. Happy to be an outlier, no place I’d rather be. But one who just gave up on MMOGs. And nobody noticed or cared.

    And I’m okay with that. I do miss what I originally had, though.

  4. Tom said,

    January 8, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I quit DAoC, twice, because of the uber-gamers playing (*cough* 8-man *cough*) and their pathetic attitude towards all things not-them. I’m done for good now because none of my original friends play anymore either. And the Xbox is just so much easier to enjoy, yet STEP AWAY FROM without drama. I played SWG for less than the length of the free trial, and this was before they castrated it. It was a gorgeous game with all the right things going for it for a Star Wars fan like me, but I could already see, based on my DAoC experience, that the end game consisted of the never ending hunt for the supergear and of course Jedi status. If I could have just enjoyed it as a tourist/casual player over the long haul I might have subscribed. I’m one of thsoe gamers who prefers to play several classes or wotnot to experience that range of play rather than focus on maxing one character. I actually started out in a “game” called “There”. It was my first experience with massive interaction, and it was absolutely exactly not what I had expected. I played it for 2 years, and made real friends, but there wasn’t actually anything to achieve there so I left for DAoC. Which is ironic of me to say since it’s the hyper-achievers that annoy me so much. I guess these fall mostly under 2 then. Although in the case of DAoC there was at least the *perception* that the game devs were catering somewhat to the 8-mans (while vehemently denying it) because deep down they knew they would be the last players left when the lights are turned off.

    Bleh, long winded, sorry.

  5. VPellen said,

    January 8, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    As a gamer, I must say that point one has never been a problem for me; I stopped listening to the Gaming Press around about the time I hit puberty, and I don’t think I’ve ever listened to the MMO Gaming Press. There’s too much room for bullshitting, and I’ve learned to just ignore it. If you listen mostly to word of mouth, point one is almost never a problem.

    Many games I’ve quit have been because of point two or three. I’ve only had two games that have held me for several years, and that was my first MMO, and Eve Online, which I seem to quit from time to time and then come back to after a month or two before dabbling for another month and then quitting again.

    Most all the rest though fall under three. This includes countless Korean games which all seemed the same, and a fair handful of indie games which just didn’t get me involved enough to care.

  6. Scopique said,

    January 8, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I’m a sucker for “newness”. I’m all gung-ho in the beginning of a new MMO because there’s the mechanics to learn, the art is different, they did X Y or Z differently. I didn’t mind that LotRO was a WoW reskin, because it was new to me.

    After a while, when the newness wears off, I need to see myself progressing in order to maintain interest. This isn’t the fault of anyone who designed the game. If I’m not able to make visible headway in a single session or two, I find myself logging in less and less often. It’s a downward spiral at that point, and I eventually quit.

  7. GA said,

    January 8, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I don’t disagree with anything in particular in this analysis, but isn’t this list of three reason actually ONE reason? The customer expected you not to suck, and not deliver material that they were burned out on. If they didn’t expect this, at a minimum, they expected these factors not to be dealbreakers. Maybe they did think your game would suck and be just like the game they were leaving but their whole guild was re-rolling and they thought it wouldn’t be bad enough that they wouldn’t be able to stand it. If we are talking about people who have purchased your game at retail (perhaps less relevant with new games now that open beta is essentially a free trial period), there was some point at which they thought your game was worth paying for, and now they don’t. (The open beta thing opens an entirely new kettle of fish, cause now you’re trying to retain people you don’t actually have yet, some of whom are looking forward to your product but could be turned off, and some of whom had no intention of paying in the first place but are willing to try it out for free.)

    The only case I can think of that doesn’t fit under rule number 1 is the case where the customer specifically planned a short term visit. E.g. “The next WoW patch isn’t out for two months, and I hear you can solo to 50 in LOTRO during that time, so I’m going to buy the game and cancel it once I’m done.” Of course, technically speaking you do have a chance to retain anyone who sets foot in your game, but that customer did get exactly what they expected – two months of gaming for the price of the box and one monthly fee. But, other than that scenario, it seems like all the situations you’re describing could be summed up “This game does not deliver.”

  8. Frank S. said,

    January 8, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Long-time lurker, first time commenter.

    I think that part of the reason for the “shock” that some folks might experience when their product doesn’t go as well as it should and the relative defensiveness that might follow is related to not taking at least partial responsibility for it. The whole idea of “factors beyond control” smacks of this.

    There’s this book called “The Oz Principle” which in a nutshell boils down to saying “you can have self-loathing, be defensive, or shift the blame for a while, but ultimately you should accept some responsibility for the decisions you make, because that’s the best way to move on”. While I’m a regular joe and not someone involved in the gaming industry, I have seen many a developer post shirking the responsibility for the failure of a patch/product/class balance with an amazed tone of “well we didn’t expect it to be this way”. Unfortunately, hindsight is 20/20 and it doesn’t particularly cut the mustard when a mistake is made.

    I do think the real challenge (perhaps partially the responsibility of the sad “community weenies” out there) is to sort out when all the “I’m quitting” posts are real, and actual indication of a problem or if they are mindless attention whoring.

  9. Apache said,

    January 8, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I quit DAoC because the cluster my favorite toons were on was deader than disco. Odds are, I’d probably be playing if the population and competition was still there. I still like the game.

  10. dartwick said,

    January 8, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I think you missed a reason people quit. Or at least why they used to quit.

    *As average players become more sophistcated with respect to the world – gameplay and the imersive experience changes signifigantly for all players.*

    This isnt the same as becoming bored with the world. You could simply say people were leaving because the game has problems, but its more complicated when you consider what was part of good game play one year was bad for game play another year. It was especially obvious in DAoC because of the games PVP nature but it is present in many games – Ill use DAoC for some examples.

    -In the year of DAoC the average player didnt quite grasp the power of stealth and there werent many stealthers. Then the extreme players quickly leveld stealthers and annoyed a lot people. Then many many people rolled stealthers. This greatly changed game play for everyone even those who stayed with one original toon.

    -Buff bots. Basically the same thing again. As players adapted to the game the game changed(players started second accounts) was the change – but it took a long time.

    Group make up. Some of the very powerful RVR combinations existed from the start and were rarely maximized for the first year. or two. The average player often didnt try them till till they became a FOTM following a nerf ccyle on something else.

    This happens in all games but slower in MMOs and the effect it exagerated in PVP games.

  11. Arrakiv said,

    January 9, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Interesting. That certainly seems to sum up a lot of reasons why I have quit games in the past, to be sure. Of course, I’ve also left games simply due to lack of time (I quit EVE when I traveled over to Japan to study, and I hadn’t picked up another MMO for quite some time). I’ve also left games before simply because my guild/group of friends left/left for something else, when I otherwise enjoyed the game.

    But, yeah, the list is pretty straight forward and it should be pretty obvious.

  12. Monika T`Sarn said,

    January 9, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I’ve quit for two different reasons.
    The first: A game came out that has something new to offer. I left UO for EQ because the 3D graphics environment was so much more immersive; I left EQ for DAOC because it offered PvP – and so on. Each time I was actively playing and having fun in the old game, but there was just something better out there now. I guess this reason gets less common as the genre matures, but I can see a lot of people leaving WoW for Warhammer or Conan to experience a different kind of pvp.
    The second: I left because my guild quit a game. There’s just no more motivation if you are left behind without your friends. Of course this happens because the other members want to leave for some reason, so it goes back to your original three reasons in some way.

  13. Goemagog said,

    January 10, 2008 at 2:54 am

    sometimes life just gets in the way.

    Goe, not your panacea.

  14. Massively said,

    January 10, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Why do people quit?

    If you’re a gamer and haven’t read Sanya Weathers’ blog Eating Bees then you’re missing out on one of the best reads in the gaming biz today. …

  15. mythago said,

    January 11, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Well said.

  16. Dajay said,

    January 11, 2008 at 11:16 am

    My main reasons were that I have missed my friends moving on another MMO’s. Sometimes you just don’t really want to experience the “social-grind” again even it could be fun and fresh. But when you have 4 ou 5 years links with some friends, when they all move in the same boat, you definitely want at least to took the experience of this “so-great-game-that-they-leave-me-alone-here”.

  17. Tovin said,

    January 11, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    You forgot the reason I quit. Addiction. When you go back to DAoC, play a classic server and thought, DEAR GOD THIS IS AWESOME, forget to go to sleep, report for work, and buy food: There is a problem.

    Hence why I am stuck with boring stupid games. I am not equipped to be adult enough to stop the playing. I admit it. I’m sorry DAoC. I miss you!

  18. Eric the Grey said,

    January 12, 2008 at 5:27 am

    I’ve left for two of the reasons mentioned above, and one other. First, it was the old “been there, done that” boredom of playing the same game too long. Others, just didn’t grab me as fully. The third was real-life.

    The last time I unsubscribed to WoW my exit survey said basically, school and work don’t leave me enough time to play. I’m currently playing, and will most likely cancel my account for another three months until the term is over, and see how it goes from there…

    Good list, nonetheless.

    EtG

  19. MouseJunior said,

    January 12, 2008 at 8:24 am

    You really need “life happened” on that list.

    I quit EQ2 because between working 80+ hours a week, sleeping the 70+ hours a week it takes for me to sustain that kind of output for six months straight, and keeping the rest of my life from completely imploding around my ears, there just wasn’t time for an MMO. I still liked the game and wanted to keep playing but I’m a grownup, and job (income) > fun and games (expense).

    Now The Project has shipped, but I’m out of the habit of playing, and reluctant to get back into that kind of a time commitment.

  20. Kitashla said,

    January 12, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    That pretty much covers all the reasons we ever quit an MMORPG. Sometimes it’s because we’re ready to move onto something new. We quit EQ to move to DAoC. We stuck with DAoC until WoW. So far there’s really been nothing to replace WoW, but we’re not hardcore players and quit off and on all the time as “life happens”.

    You suck pretty much describes Horizons to a T. Guild Wars/COV/COH were just games that didn’t have the elements we looked for in a game. Good games, but not the games for us.

    MMORPGs are the same as any other product. Why do people buy Pepsi over Coke, pick McD’s over BK? For some reason, gaming companies tend to forget that preference plays a big part in what people play and I’m sorry, there isn’t a person alive that’s going to be able to create a game that appeals to everyone. Once they start trying to do that, they start lowering the overall quality of the game in general.

  21. Skeetarian said,

    January 13, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I have quit two MMO’s since I started back in 2001.

    DAoC, four times

    WoW, once

    1) DAoC – ToA expansion: It was the buggiest expansion I could have ever imagined. Quit because I had this desire to do A,B and C and be rewarded with prize Z…not do A, B and find out that C doesn’t work yet…or the path to B has a hole in the world that sucks you into lava and you can’t be rezzed out of it and you can’t catch up with the raid solo. Returned solely because of the community weenie doing a terrific job at being an advocate for the players.

    2) DAoC – Guild left: Couple folks left for this, couple more for that game. They were more the been there, done that crowd that had levelled all the classes they wanted to 50. I’m more of the casual type that just enjoys the fun of doing/redoing something with friends. Came back after staying in touch via a server board and formed a new guild with some alliance friends in similar predicament…we like the game, but not enough friends around to get anything done with.

    3) DAoC – Reunion of friends in WoW!

    4) WoW – I was still the more casual of the guild players and while they would stop and rerun a quest to try to help me catch up with the ones they were on, by level 37 I got tired of feeling like I was out of sync with everyone else in the guild and went back to DAoC with the remaining folks from #2 above and moved to Classic server with others that came back for a fresh start.

    5) DAoC – What the hell game is this?: Not sure where the Devs were going anymore. Clusters removed Realm Pride. Community weenie left. Archers became casters with stealth. Tanks became healers. Cats sleeping with dogs!

    Expansions encouraged falling number of players to PvE which disheartened RvR players. BP bought items encouraged still falling number of players to PvP for items. NF had choke points to defend. NF had unclimbable terrain removed. NF is too hard to defend. NF has portals put into keeps. NF has some keep ports removed.

    I guess my point of this last time I quit DAoC was more that the over-riding ‘Spirit of the Game’ was gone. The Devs claimed that DAoC II was not an option, never going to happen…Yet, every other patch or two for the last couple of years has been DAoC II, then DAoC III, then DAoC IV.

    Making wholesale changes to classes, essentially the only similarity they had from one patch to the next was the name in some cases (ok…being a bit extreme here, but if you change a class to the point that someone who’s played one from release has to relearn how to play it in ONE patch, you’ve gone too far!)…Don’t get me started on forcing a UI change on players that were perfectly happy with their old symbol style icons that were replaced by graphical/picture like ones!

    Lately, it felt like the Devs were a bunch of kids fighting over the wheel of a flatbed truck, every time a new kid started driving they’d yank the wheel so hard left/right that they would launch another batch of players off the truck.

    Having been through a couple of guild/alliance rebuilds already, I saw the writing on the wall as patch by patch a couple folks here and a few folks there stopped logging in for their own reasons from above…I wasn’t up for doing it again.

    Go ahead, try to FACTOR that reason for quitting! :p

  22. Tutelary said,

    January 15, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Great read. You summed up my thoughts on quitting CoH/V. Only real reason I stayed with it so long was because I was a hard-core comic collector and love super-heroes. The game has potential but I’m finally seeing after 3 years it will always be unrealized potential.

    Burn out and you suck were spot on.

    Burn out: They really have not offered anything truly new with their updates but merely took existing content, twisted it a bit and called it new. They couldn’t even be bothered to create new sound effects and re-used them on new powers. I can’t truly say I’ve done anything new that could not be done at launch, even Inventions which are merely souped up Enhancements which existed from Day 1.

    You suck: They changed the game drastically on me and the experience was never the same. I used to feel super. Oh you are so right, the board whores other wise known officially as the Forum Cartel lived to exalt the deeds of the Devs and tell everyone that disagreed how it was the right decision.

    The subscription numbers(easy to find on NCSoft’s site) never justified the change.

  23. Phaltran said,

    January 18, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Completely agree with your points, but I wonder where a few specific quitting scenarios fit.

    1) Now generation: These are the power levelers who apparently have no school or job yet can afford a fast computer, high speed internet, the base game and a monthly subscription. They “consume” the whole game in half the time the developers expected focusing only on how far they could go with one character not how much of the game they could explore or enjoy. Once they’ve had a single ride to the top, they’ve “been there and done that” disregarding that they’ve missed 75% of the game. Just because the reasonable development cycle for new content cannot keep up to this small percentage of l33t’s, is that a fault of the game or the company that produced it? I don’t expect game company’s to keep up with ADD people’s interests.

    2) Greener pastures: Nothing wrong with the current game, it’s evolving as expected, but a new game comes out and draws the crowd away temporarily or permanently. Guess that falls under burnout as players want something new and different. The company doesn’t suck until they quit developing the game and ignoring the loyal players left behind. A stagnant game hits all three of these points.

    I’ve only paid to play a few games: UO, AC, DAoC, WoW and LotRO. I’ve beta tested a dozen others. I am extremely grateful to any and every game producing company that provides a beta test of their game, MMO or otherwise. This has saved me a huge amount of time and money finding out early that a game is not what I want. The companies could be underhanded and force us to buy the game just to satisfy our curiosity.

    Hanna, you are by no means alone. I think there are a great many more non-PvP players than you think. I am grateful for WoW’s method of handling it. I’m able to completely enjoy the game I want without having to deal with PvP any more than ignoring someone who tries to repeatedly duel me. I hadn’t heard about a forced PvP zone in WotLK, but I can guarntee you I’ll be avoiding it. There are plenty of areas in WoW that are “unplayable” for one reason or another, but WoW is so huge it’s a small percentage of loss. True, the PvP crowd does seem to be the most vocal and get the lion’s share of development, but WoW is still evolving and improving faster than I can consume it.

  24. UnSub said,

    January 22, 2008 at 3:53 am

    I’ve seen ‘burn out’ masked by ‘you suck’ many times in MMOs.

    No game lasts forever, yet a percentage of MMO players appear to take offence that the MMO they are playing can’t entertain them indefinitely. But if you play a game long enough, it is probably going to bore you at some stage and you’ll look elsewhere.

    I don’t know if it is a psychological defence – that they used to have fun, but now they don’t, so it has to be the game’s fault and the devs obviously hate them – but it is a pretty common occurance.

  25. UnSub said,

    January 22, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Actually Sanya, I do think you missed one reason for quitting which Phaltran mentioned – Greener Pastures. Your game is fine, but the Next Big Thing promises so much more! Players quit to test the NBT out – if it meets their expectations, they’ll stay. If it doesn’t, you have a percentage chance they’ll come back.

  26. Ashendarei said,

    January 22, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Great write up Sanya, it really sums up alot of the main reasons.

    One that I’d like to add, the reason I left my first MMO (EQ) was TOO MUCH development. Releasing a new expansion every 3-4 months and charging your players another $30-50 USD to get the latest and greatest was a huge dissapointing factor for me. In the end I heard about DAoC and gave it a try on opening day (took the day off of work and waited with baited breath for my pre-ordered copy to arrive) and had a BLAST for the first year or so.

    Not sure where that one would fall in at, but I know that “Greener Pastures” definately feels like a closer fit.

  27. Michael said,

    January 24, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    I quit for two reasons:

    1) Something better comes out. For this reason I quit EQ in favor of DAoC and later quit DAoC in favor of WoW.

    2) I need to catch up on single player games. I have quit WoW twice, when I realized that a lot of really good games are passing me by. I came back the first time and will come back again once I get my fair share of alone time.

  28. Amethyst said,

    February 8, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    As a long time lurker I finally decided to post. I to am one that really dreads the whole PvP thing. I have been playing DAoC with my hubby for going on 4 years now and came very close to quitting. The cluster I was on was an RvR server, and the Alliance I was in was one that was gung ho MUST RVR every time a tower turned from red to blue or green (yeah I admit it I am an Alb). It got to the point even if we planned a PvE event that we would either lose too many or get the whole BG pulled to NF just to get all the way out there and be told, “Oh we got it back, thanks for coming out”. At which point everyone had lost interest in doing the original thing the BG started out for. It wasn’t untill a friend of mine, seeing how burnt out I was getting of RvR asked me to try Gaheris (CoOp Server) with him. It brought a whole new light upon the game for me, instead of the realms fighting they worked together for one goal. It’s almost like a new game for me now. As it is I went over to Pend the other day during the new clustering and was at a total loss trying to take on Goldie with a bg. The difference it makes for a PvE player on that server made me enjoy the game again. I have more fun with being able to go to each realm and fight the dragon’s as well as the difference in the relic encounters then I ever had on the RvR servers. I guess it’s all in perspective of the game and how you play it. I was in on a beta for an MMO a while back that I can’t even find on the market now, so I don’t even think it made it out of Beta, but the game didn’t hold my interest in Beta, so I doubt it would have held it if it had gone live.

  29. nattas said,

    February 13, 2008 at 5:20 am

    To what nicke said, you failed at life :/

  30. March 20, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    […] notice that there’s a "Views" column next to the replies column. For details: Obvious Truth: Why People Quit Eating Bees I should note that Sanya Weathers, ehm, does not pull punches in her blog posts. […]

  31. Lilytoes said,

    May 21, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I think there should be “quit because the game became a job”.

    I referring to WoW. I am referring to it’s end game “raid progression” that goads people into churning hours and hours away at the same content for the sake of epic loot, faction reputation, and pleasing your guild leadership. Those who slack off – for whatever reason, most of the time it doesn’t matter why – will get the boot. Many hardcore guilds won’t tolerate “cherry pickers”.

    Am I the only one who feels a bitter sense of irony? It’s a game that I pay $15 a month to enjoy. It was meant to entertain me – that’s all.

    If I’m letting people on the Internet (my GO’s) dictate to me how I spend my personal time on a weekly basis then I need to reevaluate what is good for me. My personal freedom or slaving away at a game? I left and have not looked back. I spend my time these days playing with like-minded people and I play MMO’s that don’t pressure me to punch a timecard every night.

  32. June 2, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    […] fact, that’s exactly why companies are so interested in finding out why you’re quitting their game. If they can fix issues that are making a lot of people quit, they can retain more customers and […]


Leave a Reply

