Gamers For A Cure, Part 2

I am filled, FILLED I SAY, with loathing for Verizon, Sprint, Long Fence, moving in general, and above all, Maryland. But I finally have a real internet connection, my yard is beagle proof, and really, Maryland is pretty nice except for the weird smell of Yankee you get this close to the border.

It is in support of one of my favorite Yankees that I herald my return to blogging today.

After all, it’s not his fault he lives in Pennsylvania.

Kwip, of NeenerNeener.net (once a fairly large gaming news and funnies site, now an equally funny blog site), has for several years now rallied his gaming friends and acquaintances to raise funds for a cure for multiple sclerosis. His beautiful and sarcastic spouse, Kwipette, is their official spokesmodel. I’ve had the honor of supporting the cause for the last few years.

This year, I have no swag, no betas, and no bully pulpit. All eight of you with nothing better to do at work are awesome and all, but not exactly a multitude. What I did have to spare were my Warhammer shirts, worn expressly to do the Warhammer demo at tradeshows and for no other purpose. So I donated them.

But there’s no point in a charity auction if no one knows to bid. Fortunately, I have friends.

Some lily-livered people I shall not name were concerned about the reaction from the studio. “Piffle,” I said, or I would have said if I were the kind of person who said “piffle.” And in fact, I was entirely correct, because I got a lovely email almost immediately. So now the winning bids are effectively doubled in their donation value.

Then one of the people at GuildCafe said in a sad voice that basically, winning the auctions was for rich people. So Kwip and I cooked up a Clever Plan. Every little bit helps.

Anyway, do me a favor and send the links to Warhammer fans in your social circle. Thank you. I now return to my exciting life and its next round of “who the hell packed this box, a drunken gorilla?”

18 Comments

  1. Ruby said,

    April 10, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I clicked your “a lovely email” link in delight expecting a huge drama bomb of copyright legal threats or something of that nature and was sorely dissapointed.

    In any case, you’re doing good stuff! Let the bidding begin!

  2. April 10, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I will do my best to spread this to all of the folks I know interested in Warhammer, Online or not.

    And Maryland is pretty nice, even with the Yankees claiming that it’s not the South. Feh. 😛

  3. Tronster said,

    April 10, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Welcome to Maryland! I’ve had your blog’s RSS feed in Google Reader and was surprised someone whom I soak wisdom up from over the internet is now in my back yard. If you’re not too far from Hunt Valley, I’d love to meet you at a future IGDA meeting. ( http://www.igda.org/baltimore )
    Cheers.

  4. April 10, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    […] others were on the […]

  5. April 10, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    […] Sanya Weathers is eBaying her old WAR staff shirts and donating the proceeds to Gamers for a Cure. […]

  6. Josh said,

    April 10, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Be nice to Maryland. Sure, you can’t buy guns from vending machines, but you don’t need to buy vodka from the government!

  7. sanyaweathers said,

    April 10, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    If I’m going to have government guns and vodka, I’ll have them together or NOT AT ALL.

    Besides, I can’t even buy beer or wine at the grocery store in Maryland, because as one of the local legislators just said with a straight face, we can’t have vices in MD where the state doesn’t get a cut.

  8. Josh said,

    April 10, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Hrm… I forgot about that. I think you also can’t get it on Sundays.

    At least your governor isn’t in a terrible Pogues/Green Day cover band. Oh wait…

  9. April 11, 2008 at 2:48 am

    […] Weathers is doing a cool thing. Auctioning off some Warhammer shirts for a worthy cause. Don’t think you can afford to win […]

  10. Dellaster said,

    April 11, 2008 at 2:54 am

    I lived in MD from 1994-2004. Unless things have changed, liquor access goes by county, not state. For example, in Montgomery County you had to buy liquor from the government store (and not on Sundays) while in Charles County it could be purchased any day of the week in the supermarkets.

    Congratulations on your move. I hope your stay in MD is mostly pleasant, as was mine.

  11. DMP/Saerzina said,

    April 11, 2008 at 3:28 am

    I am pleased to hear about this. I play Dark Age of Camelot, and I am a class TL (Druid). This blog was linked to me by a TLG. It is wonderful that attention is being placed on Multiple Sclerosis. I was sick myself for more than 2 years, with a ‘mysterious’ illness that was then found this March to have Multiple Sclerosis.

    I am doing much better now, but reaching the diagnosis was a journey in itself. I am thrilled to hear the gaming community is keen to this disease and that awareness is being raised. I have not kept my diagnosis a secret. I feel it’s best to let people know my story and what I went through. It may some day help another who also suffers what I did for so long.

  12. Shaz said,

    April 11, 2008 at 5:51 am

    As someone else who went through the long agonizing process of eventually being diagnosed with MS and having to live with it since, thank you Sanya.

    And thank you to everyone supporting Gamers for a Cure, or supporting any other such organization- or supporting anyone living their life with such an illness.

    It’s appreciated.

  13. Aufero said,

    April 11, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Hey! I have better things to do at work – I just don’t do them.

    I like the Clever Plan.

  14. April 11, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    […] MS. If you want to help out, they are having an auction for some Warhammer Online shirts (thanks to Sanya Weathers). You can also donate money directly if you […]

  15. Buzzregog said,

    April 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I felt sorry for the first shirt, it was feeling unloved, so now it creeps closer to the high rent 2nd shirt.

  16. April 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Realising that the Peace Corps refuses to go that far north,
    I am willing to assemble a ‘Cultural Survival Pack’.
    How about:
    – a Stuckey’s Pecan Log Roll,
    – some Moon Pies,
    – and a box of grits?

  17. Goemagog said,

    April 11, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    your boxes were actually packed by rabid baboons.

    Goe, will spare you the backstory.

  18. Iakimo said,

    April 24, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Actually, no Deep South Cultural Survival Pack For The North would be complete without a twelve-pack of Dr. Pepper and a jar of peanuts to dump by the double-spoonful into the can, so the imbiber can devour peanuts simultaneously with swilling his Pepper.

    My old college roommate says it’s a Georgia thing.


Leave a Reply

