Plus ca change…

This link amused me, particularly “What are some other things I should know?” I feel like this should be made into a pamphlet, and it should be provided to those new to MMOs in some sort of welcome basket, along with asbestos underpants and chicken nuggets. It was last edited on April 15, 1997. This tidbit was at the bottom:

Final Word

   Playing a mud of any sort is NOT a right. The people who run the game
   and the people who owns/runs the system that you are playing from are
   not required to let you play. If you abuse your privledge [sic] of playing,
   there are good chances that it will be taken away.

Side note: Chicken nuggets are the ultimate one handed food.

Edited – ooooooooookay, the link’s not working, and it’s not working from the place I got it from (http://www.dikumud.com/links.aspx) either. I’m looking for another copy now.

Edited again – I love you, Wayback Machine! http://web.archive.org/web/20050828045301/http://www.faqs.org/faqs/games/mud-faq/diku/

7 Comments

  1. pharniel said,

    June 5, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    oh noez, file not found

  2. sanyaweathers said,

    June 5, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    The hell? I can see it in the preview mouseover thingy. Sec, BRB.

  3. soukyan said,

    June 5, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    So does some form of that statement get integrated into the EULA or the ToS? I would think a well-written ToS would cover that or says something to that effect in a more appropriately worded form of subscription cancellation-ese.

    Also, chicken nuggets are quite unhealthy. Just sayin’

  4. Eldr said,

    June 5, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I learnt to code C in ’97 on a Diku variant, Godwars. I was 16 πŸ™‚

    I remember slowly figuring out WTF a linked list was, then suffering the creeping realisation that years of other coders who had not figured out what a linked list was, had been working on this code. I practically had the server bounce hotkeyed.
    IIRC I wrote the guild code for that MUD, or started it at least.

    Multiple affiliation still hasn’t made it mainstream.

  5. Drey said,

    June 5, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Yeah, you can learn a lot of lessons about bad coding going over the DIKU-derivative code bases. πŸ™‚

  6. Michael Sullivan said,

    June 6, 2008 at 5:47 am

    I’ve played a long running Forgotten Realms MUD now for going on 10 years? Even part of the staff, I’ve read that FAQ before funny enough πŸ˜› I just find it interesting to see it mentioned here. I heart MUDs.

  7. Apache said,

    June 8, 2008 at 2:26 am

    I think that this info is no longer relevant


Leave a Reply

