/LFG

I feel like I’m on a particularly bizarre bandwagon. There’s a lot of drinking and black humor, so it’s a FUN bandwagon, but still.

As you already know if you’ve been reading, oh, any gaming news site in the WORLD, Austin got a little wild-eyed and scary recently. A lot of good people are looking for work right now.

So am I!

I’m not as freaked out as some of the Austinites, though. I still work for GamerDNA, but in more of an advisory capacity. The team is composed of some of the finest people to ever wield a keyboard, and wild horses couldn’t keep me from wanting to work with them. But a good consultant knows when a job can be done remotely, and when it’s just gotta be done in person. These days the boss needs someone in person, and when I say “I cannot relocate,” it doesn’t mean “give me more money.” So I’m working on the projects for them that can be done remotely, and I’m looking for new gigs. If you have burning community issues, writing, ghostwriting, copy editing, or industry commentary that needs doing, give me a buzz.

Public service announcement: Move to Maryland, work for Zenimax Online, and while you’re at it, move into my retirement community neighborhood, which is presently teeming with people who don’t even HAVE computers and stare at me funny when I try to explain my professional specialty. It would be nice if you could get a demographic breakdown before you buy a house, you know? But when I asked my agent, you’d think I’d asked him if there was a community clubhouse with facilities for draining cat cadavers. Apparently it’s illegal to give out specific demographic breakdowns. Criminy, I wasn’t trying to violate the Fair Housing Act, I was trying to see if there were people my age nearby. Grumble. Anyway, if you’re looking to move to a part of the country NOT surrounded by Texas or Yankees, there’s the link. I can even suggest neighborhoods to live in where the average age is under fifty. Firor’s not giving me any money for this post or any resulting applications, so feel free to ask me for my opinions. Won’t you be my neighbor?

20 Comments

  1. vinea said,

    August 14, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    *sigh*

    After running the numbers the only way I can afford to work for a game company is to win the lottery first.

    I may apply anyway. What the heck, I already live in Maryland.

  2. Calaruis said,

    August 14, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    Move to Maryland, check (7 years ago at that).
    Can’t go to work for the game company, already working for $3_letter_agency, and the money is good. Besides, they aren’t hiring my mad admin skills anyway (not a network admin).

  3. mystery said,

    August 14, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    FHA (and such) only restricts Realtors from giving you that information, as they consider it an unfair advantage if one Realtor is allowed to, you know, help people, and others aren’t. You can get that sort of information on your own, and it’s perfectly legal for you to do it. In your instance, I would have called the neighborhood association, or, barring that, neighborhood businesses that might have some information.

    Of course, that doesn’t help you now. Say “Hi!” to Grandma for me!

  4. Marc said,

    August 15, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Where did you end up moving to?

  5. pharniel said,

    August 15, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    our realiter told us “drive around the neighboorhood on saturday, sunday and a weekday to see what the ‘breakdown’ is.”

    Part of the reason it’s illegal is to prevent discrete collectives ensureing that there are none of ‘those people’ in the nighboorhood you want to move into. where ‘those people’ is code for ‘anyone i don’t like’

    at least that’s the intent.

  6. Brinstead said,

    August 15, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Check out CCP – they may let you work remotely, and boy do they ever need a good community rep…

  7. Adam said,

    August 15, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Blizzard needs an actual Community Manager…

  8. Apache said,

    August 16, 2008 at 1:52 am

    plus — all the tasty crab cakes you can eat

  9. Kade said,

    August 17, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Wow, I’m disappointed. I actually joined GamerDNA mainly because you had such enthusiasm over it. Not sure what I’ll do with that account now.

    You should totally take over the community manager post at Lord of the Rings Online.

  10. Kinada said,

    August 17, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Would be pretty cool to be the lead content designer. Sadly a lack of professional game development experience seems to keep people from wanting to offer jobs like that to me as much as I would enjoy doing it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Years ago I even wrote a design document with a friend of mine but sadly we couldn’t interest any publishers or VC.

    Moving into your neighborhood would be cool. I’d brag about it to friends and family and they would just look at me strange but they do that a lot anyway.

  11. Skeetarian said,

    August 18, 2008 at 6:17 am

    My boss came to me a couple weeks ago and asked if I wanted to work remotely 3 days a week. I suspect he was just trying to not feel so guilty about working 2 weeks from Oregon over the summer… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Sorry to hear it didn’t last that long at GamerDNA. They should have thought it through a bit further out than they did. If they need onsite now, they probably should have started that way.

    /shrug

    Don’t stop looking for someone that knows what a Community Weanie is though…I’m sure there’s some gamer living in their Grandma’s basement around there somewhere!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Jason Cloutier said,

    August 19, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    see, i would love to get into the industry, but there are 2 things holding me back..

    1. I have not gone to college to get a degree for anything, i just know what i know…i guess.

    and

    2.(the biggest thing) Every one and THEIR MOTHER require like 3-5 years of actual experience….how is anyone fresh out of school supposed to have 3-5 years of industry experience…i hate our crap economy…whatever happened to interns and learning on the job. pfft, guess i just go to school for something else and just continue to throw $15.00 a month into other peoples games.:(

  13. Get A Life said,

    August 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Sanya,

    1. You are a self-righteous, arrogant, no talented complainer. That’s why nobody wants to hire you. All you do is whine all day.

    2. I am not sure if you even have an english/lit degree. I would be surprised because you don’t seem to be very intelligent or insightful.

    3. You are fat and ugly.

    In summary, you are just a little fat toad that goes around bitching all day long. You have nothing to offer.

    I understand you are going through the five stages of grief. You seem to be stuck on denial. Sorry…you suck.

  14. sanyaweathers said,

    August 21, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    ROFL

  15. Jason Cloutier said,

    August 21, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    wow, is 13 serious…gotta love fanbois that stumble upon you after years of not seeing you, and throwing personal insults your way…because they have had it pent up for 5 years about how you did them wrong….i love people!

  16. Calarius said,

    August 21, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Re #13:

    Any bets that person didn’t use a legit e-mail address either? No, didn’t think so.

  17. Irony said,

    August 21, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    #13: Irony called.

    1: You’re complaining about complaining, where does that put you?

    2: You’re esorting to basic attacks like “you’re ugly” then commenting on her intelligence, and

    3: You are fat and ugly.

    I can do it too! It’s okay, though. I don’t expect a reply.

  18. vianney said,

    August 29, 2008 at 3:40 am

    13: you rock! We need more of that humor.

    Sanya:www.movoto.com is what i’m using right now.
    from a 6.5y old DAOC player whose subscription finally expired yesterday.

  19. vianney said,

    August 31, 2008 at 5:16 am

    ^^ there was supposed to be a /kiss before the from but i’m stupid and put it in HTML tag format.

  20. for the lulz said,

    September 21, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    It might be hard to find a place that will tolerate you calling other members of your team your “minions”.


Leave a Reply

